Vista School Board Meeting

May 25, 2023 Minutes

Location: 585 East Center, Ivins, UT 84738

https://uetn-org.webex.com/uetn-org/j.php?MTID=mbf98d2822171b301847f68dfd0200420

Board members present: Josh Aikens, Peter Dawson, Alicia Maldonado, Matt Middione, Jacqueline

Powell, Michelle Walter

Others present: Chris Barnum, Troy Bradshaw, Bruce Hatch, Michelle Andes, Kalynn Snow, Julie Fonseca, Chloe Padilla, Carolina & Mickey Miller, Jazzmine Gee, Michael Hale, Kelly Geary, Marie Ehlers, MiChelle VanValkenburg, Allie Koller, Eva Lorentzen, Sara Martinez, Kim Bowler, Arlee Hildebrandt, Julie Esparza, Maura Ruaporo-Namana, Rebekah Wainwright, Alison Schulz, Justin Johnson, Kiesha Jones, Andrew Egbert, Amber & Katie Crouch, Joyelle Mills-Turley, Catherine Francis, Amanda Talbot, Crystal Jaster, Isaac Gish, Linda & Greg DeLuca, Kerry Taylor, Adam Ashton, Jordan Bartholomew, Nicole Richins, Twila Kay, Melodie Jones, Katherine Zarada, Terra Thornley, Shawnee Hansen, Kelli Wilson, Heather Riddell, Matt & Virginia Haws, Hannah Hunter, Neil Walter, Zach Goodrich, Mersadies Ebert, Kristin Fleming, Karlie Hardman, Alejandra & Greg Klc, Grace & Michael Paget, Jordan Paige Bartholomew, Kim, Lacey Williams, Abe Nickle, Natalie Anderson, Karmee Foster, Rachel Hendrickson, Jennifer Hepworth, Lori McConnell, Hayley Alvarado, Micheline Barben, Savannah Slye, Kelsey Spjut, Shannon Martin, Lindsay Sharifi, Cheryl Fowles, Lindsay Stalling, Danielle Ray, Amanda Harmon, Rebekah Rogers, Kim & Russ Clegg, Heather Burch, Ashley Hobson, Via Webex: Tawny Betts, Alexis, Alicia Hutchinson, Rachel Kitchens, Reagan Geary, Armstrong, Cid, Emily Smith, Hillary Osness, Kaitlin, LaTrill Loverige, Lorene, Mary, Virginia, Jill Fraser, Barry Burr, DW, Shay Dexter, Logan Ostrom, Katie Pearce, Callahan, Isabella Smith, Nelly, Sylvia Bradshaw, David Jones, Lola, SDand, Emma Benson, Anonymous Guests

5:07 pm CALL TO ORDER: Welcome and Introductions made by Michelle Walter

5:08 pm APPROVAL OF MINUTES Josh Aikens made a motion to approve the minutes. Michelle Walter seconded the motion. "Aye," Josh Aikens, "Aye," Peter Dawson, "Aye," Alicia Maldonado, "Aye," Matt Middione, "Aye," Jacqueline Powell, "Aye," Michelle Walter. Approved unanimously.

5:09 pm PUBLIC COMMENTS Public comments made by teachers, staff, parents, administrators, and board member, Michelle Walter.

7:12 pm BOARD CALENDAR

Next Board Meeting - June 29th @ 6 pm, training at 5:30 pm

7:12 pm REPORTS

Director's Report - Chris Barnum

Enrollment and Lottery Update - The school has 1113 students enrolled. There are 1188 enrolled next year with students on the waitlist.

Academic Progress - Mr. Barnum reviewed the preliminary test scores.

Faculty/Staff Changes - Justin Johnson, Janna Slye, and Adam Ashton are all leaving. They are being replaced by Caleb Hales, Melinda Hixon, and Maree Barry.

Upcoming and Past Events - Not covered

7:18 pm Financial Report - Troy Bradshaw reviewed the latest profit and loss statement. The school is currently in the black with a few large projects slated for the summer that include new paint, carpeting, and carbon monoxide sensors. Mr. Bradshaw would like to take these out of the current budget.

7:30 pm Committee Reports – Finance, Audit, Governance - Peter Dawson reviewed information from the state for the finance committee.

7:32 pm Election Results - Michelle Walter will continue serving on the board. Scott Smith has also been voted onto the board. Matt Middione and Joshua Aikens have both completed their terms. Matt Middione

made a motion to approve the new board. Jacqueline Powell seconded the motion. "Aye," Josh Aikens, "Aye," Peter Dawson, "Aye," Alicia Maldonado, "Aye," Matt Middione, "Aye," Jacqueline Powell, "Aye," Michelle Walter. Approved unanimously.

7:33 pm DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS

School Fee Spend Plan - Mr Barnum reviewed the school fees spendout plan with the board. Josh Aikens made a motion to approve the School Fee Spend Plan. Alicia Maldonado seconded the motion. "Aye," Josh Aikens, "Aye," Peter Dawson, "Aye," Alicia Maldonado, "Aye," Matt Middione, "Aye," Jacqueline Powell, "Aye," Michelle Walter. Approved unanimously.

Donations, Gifts, and Sponsorships Policy - Tabled until next meeting.

Internet Safety Policy - Mr. Bradshaw presented the school's internet safety and filtering procedures.

7:55 pm COMMENTS FROM THE ADMINISTRATION TEAM Kelly Geary, Marie Ehlers, Bruce Hatch, and Troy Bradshaw each addressed the board. Michelle Walter replied to the administration.

8:32 pm ADJOURN Peter Dawson made a motion to adjourn and move to a closed session as stated in Utah Code 54-4-204. Josh Aikens seconded the motion. "Aye," Josh Aikens, "Aye," Peter Dawson, "Aye," Alicia Maldonado, "Aye," Matt Middione, "Aye," Jacqueline Powell, "Aye," Michelle Walter. Approved unanimously.

CLOSED SESSION

Closed session for reasons stated in Utah Code 54-4-204. To discuss the character or competence of an individual. Requires Roll call vote.

Action on issues discussed in the closed session - Not covered